What is my current insurable interest benefit?

How can I get OPM to give me my current insurable interest benefit? My ex wife will receive a survivor annuity and my current wife will also receive an annuity from my elected insurable interest. OPM says their computer can only show one survivor annuity (my ex wife). If I write they never answer!

Blocked by moderator
Posted by (Questions: 1, Answers: 1)
Asked on April 10, 2017 6:06 pm
Private answer

I do not know how you can get OPM to do anything! However, Chapter 50 of the CSRS FERS Handbook provides the formula for calculating both benefits. I will try the summarize generically and hopefully this will help give you an idea of who gets what. Here is the link to that chapter: https://www.opm.gov/retirement-services/publications-forms/csrsfers-handbook/c050.pdf It is impossible to respond with specifics as the court order might dictate something for which I have no knowledge of.
First, there is something called Order of Reductions in Annuity and OPM always reduces annuities in the same order. The basis used to compute the reduction for an insurable interest survivor benefit is your annuity after reduction for age and deposit, if applicable, but before the traditional survivor benefit reduction. Your retirement was reduced based on the difference in age between you and your current spouse with the least amount being 10% and the most 40% of your pension. The entitlement to your current spouse under this election will be 55% of the reduced annuity, increased by any cost-of-living increases you received prior to the date of death.
Example: Your pension is $2000 per month and your spouse is the same age as you. Your reduction would be 10% of $2000 or $200 per month. Your wife’s entitlement would be 55% of $1800 or $990 per month.
Whereas the basis used in computing a traditional survivor annuity is your annuity after reduction for age and deposit, if applicable, and election of the insurable interest survivor annuity.